Anoesis (n). a state of mind consisting of pure sensation or emotion without cognitive content.

Greg Stopic - alto saxophone

Alistair Johnston - tenor saxophone

Eitan Muir - electric guitar

Tomas McKeever Ford - upright bass

Ryu Kodama - drums


Anoesis formed in late 2016, a group of composer-improvisers who met through the music degree at the University of New South Wales. The group's sound is complex and spontaneous, laced with influence from contemporary Australian improvised music, world music, rock, folk and electronica, and drawing inspiration and energy from the post-bop jazz of the 60s,  

In May 2019, Anoesis with drummer Cy Donkin received the 'Best Band' runner-up prize for their performance in the 13th Bucharest International Jazz Competition. The group's debut album The Hermit (recorded with co-founder Patrick Rogers on drums) was released in October 2019 - it can be found on Bandcamp and all good streaming platforms.

© 2018-19 by Anoesis